My favourite photos from Spirit Bear Lodge – part 1

This post is going to be about the bears because when you call yourself Spirit BEAR Lodge, you pretty much make the point that the bears are the highlight. There are grizzly bears, black bears and the spirit bear. On the trip I took, we mostly saw grizzlies and we, unfortunately, missed the spirit bear 😦  I can’t say I was disappointed with what we did see though! People tell me that if I want to see bears, just come out to the town dump and see the poor bears that have been hooked on junk food just like us.  I say that seeing bears in their own habitat on their own terms is as different to the “town” bear as astro turf is to a meadow.  The fake stuff will do and is less expensive, but you know it ain’t real.

Black bear mother

Black bear mother

Young juvenile grizz - pretty thin, but eating

Young juvenile grizz – pretty thin, but eating

Approximately 5 year old Grizzly looking for salmon on the shore

Approximately 5 year old Grizzly looking for salmon on the shore

Very large male a very long way away

Very large male a very long way away

Sunning bear not sun bear

Sunning bear not sun bear

Is that a salmon I see?

Is that a salmon I see?

dum, de, dum, de, dum

dum, de, dum, de, dum

Salmon!

Salmon!

3 responses to “My favourite photos from Spirit Bear Lodge – part 1

Leave a Reply

