How to pack in a sub-continent in 5 hours

So, after all that, I did manage to see a little of Cape Town in the 96 hours (minus 12 hours recovery, 60 hours business, 4 hours various travelling, and misc hours sleeping)!!

I thoughtfully booked a private photography tour for 5 hours on a Thursday morning (check out my tour guide’s webpages here and here) because I was too chicken to book the 10 hour tour. In those 5 hours, James crammed in a couple bits of the city of Cape Town, a ton of history, a garden, photographic instruction (he found 3 – THREE- buttons on my camera I never knew) and a winery.  I really should have booked the 10 hour tour. Rather than blather on, let me show you my photos of half of the tour.

 

The light was bright and harsh, but it was great for making the colours stand out.

This was typical in District 6 before it was torn down and now only exists in a small part of the city

This was typical in District 6 before it was torn down and now only exists in a small part of the city

 

The lookout over camp bay gave great views of the mountains, the beach and the houses. It was also a great place to try and freeze frame the waves, but I would have loved a tripod.

Ok, so I didn't take this picture, but I was in it!

Ok, so I didn’t take this picture, but I was in it!

 

James explained that originally, they could only ship small pieces of glass to make sure they didn’t break in the transportation. Hence, a lot of the windows are made up of small panes. This was one of the larger wineries with several buildings, restaurants and I believe, a museum.

The building is in the style of the original Dutch settlers. Especially the window panes of small glass squares which were shipped from Europe

The building is in the style of the original Dutch settlers. Especially the window panes of small glass squares which were shipped from Europe

 

James took us to a small pond that gave great opportunities to see some of the local (not wholly indigenous though) vegetation and photograph a landscape.  The photos below omit the territorial battles of the Egyptian geese that were hanging about!

Playing around with reflections

Amazing that what we buy for $$$ grows wild here!

Amazing that what we buy for $$$ grows wild here!

Also need to get my macro-fix in

Also need to get my macro-fix in

James had us play around with shapes and reflections

James had us play around with shapes and reflections

Watercolours in water

Much of the flora was imported when the Europeans came to South Africa, but it is still unique and beautiful

Much of the flora was imported when the Europeans came to South Africa, but it is still unique and beautiful

This post is much too long now so the rest of my 5 hour tour will have to wait until the next posting…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

