Adventures with my new camera (1)

I bought a new camera! I love my huge SLRs, but I wanted one that I could slip into my pocket and not worry about it at the barn or when I go snorkeling. So I bought the sony DSC-TX30 in blue!!! (check out specs here) I haven’t had a chance to test it at the beach, but I did take it to the barn, where, as the cats were about to lick it and I pulled it back in horror, someone reminded it was waterproof and really, if Carson wanted to lick it, it would be allright (something to consider).  So, this time around, I wanted to test the “pet mode”.  As you can see, it works pretty darn well even on my horse who is technically “livestock”, not “pets”. All photos below were taken without flash. The first one was taken under fluorescent lights and the rest outside.

The camera has a good macro mode, but it doesn’t work that well with furry things that move. Carson was just waking up as a prelude to licking the camera.

Carson before he wakes up

 

Simon on the other hand, was nice and still except for the yawn and a moderately close range, the camera does produce nice results. Simon was in the shade and I still got a nice colour on his fur.

Simon Close Up

 

Larry on the other hand is “livestock” not “pet”, but the camera doesn’t care.  In the full sun with quite a breeze blowing, it renders the blues, greens and browns nicely while still compensating for the movement of horse and my hand.

Larry's Ears

On a pretty good close up/zoom, it handled BT’s ever moving body and total furriness.  It still captures his buff colour as well as really green grass.

BT in the Grass

On moderate close up (why do animals always want to come towards the camera????), it does do well even if Simon’s head comes out as a bobble head.

Simon Really Close Up

Leave a Reply

